Skip to content

July 25, 2022

Collins, King, Colleagues Urge Biden Administration Help Lower Energy Costs by Increasing Biodiesel Volumes

In addition to price relief, Senators write that “farmers and biofuel producers … deserve certainty in this policy”

Washington, D.C. – U.S. Senators Susan Collins (R-ME) and Angus King (I-ME) joined a bipartisan group of 24 of their colleagues in urging the Biden Administration to help lower fuel prices and improve economic stability by increasing the proposed biodiesel volumes in upcoming fuel obligations for 2023 and 2024. The Senators highlighted how the American biomass-based diesel industry benefits our economy and environment, and why a strong biodiesel investment in the Renewable Volume Obligations (RVOs) would give farmers and producers much needed stability.

“We strongly encourage EPA to utilize the upcoming RVOs for 2023 and 2024 to continue to increase volumes of biomass-based diesel,” the Senators wrote to Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) Administrator Michael Regan. “The production and use of biomass-based diesel contributes significantly to our economy and environment. These homegrown fuels add to our country’s critical fuel supplies, which helps to moderate fuel prices.”

“Farmers and biofuel producers are an essential part of the solution to the nation’s economic, environmental, and energy security challenges. They deserve certainty in this policy. A multiyear rule would provide the predictability and market signals that the biomass-based diesel industry needs to grow,” the Senators continued. “Biofuels are poised to play an essential role in a sustainable, homegrown energy future. With the increased use of biomass-based diesel, we can advance efforts to diversify our nation’s fuel supply while creating and sustaining jobs, strengthening local economies, generating tax revenues, and improving energy security.”

In addition to Senators Collins and King, the letter was co-signed by Senators Amy Klobuchar (D-MN), Chuck Grassley (R-IA), Patty Murray (D-WA), John Thune (R-SD), Tina Smith (D-MN), Roger Marshall (R-KS), Debbie Stabenow (D-MI), Joni Ernst (R-IA), Tammy Duckworth (D-IL), Roy Blunt (R-MO), Tammy Baldwin (D-WI), Mazie Hirono (D-HI), Jerry Moran (R-KS), Sherrod Brown (D-OH), Deb Fischer (R-NE), Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH), Josh Hawley (R-MO), Ron Wyden (D-OR), Kirsten Gillibrand (D-NY), Dick Durbin (D-IL), Maggie Hassan (D-NH), and Bernie Sanders (I-VT). 

Click HERE to read the full letter.

Next Article » « Previous Article