Skip to content

December 16, 2020

Senators Collins, King Announce More Than $900,000 to Support Drug-Free Communities in Maine

Washington, D.C. – U.S. Senators Susan Collins and Angus King announced that Maine communities have been awarded a total of $914,156 to prevent youth substance misuse and foster drug-free communities.  This funding was awarded through the Office of National Drug Control Policy (ONDCP)’s Drug-Free Communities (DFC) Support Program. 

“Last year, drug overdoses claimed the life of 380 Mainers, more than one person each day.  We must take an all-hands-on-deck approach to stop the drug epidemic, as well as alcohol abuse and concerning increases in youth tobacco usage.” said Senators Collins and King in a joint statement.  “This important funding will help Maine communities strengthen their efforts to prevent and reduce substance misuse through programs that promote a healthy lifestyle and community involvement.”

“The work of Drug Free Aroostook over the past five years has shown tremendous progress in reducing alcohol abuse among adolescence in Aroostook County.  We are absolutely thrilled to continue this work for the next five years as its importance has only escalated due to the pandemic.  Helping young people find healthy ways to manage difficult situations is critical at this time,” said Meg Hegemann, Prevention Services Program Manager, Aroostook County Action Program.  “This federal funding allows us to create pathways and strategies to serve our local youth.  The 15 organizations serving this countywide collation understand that it is not enough to just say no, but that this federal funding will allow us to create pathways and strategies to serve our local youth.  Working as a countywide collation we are making these healthier options available.”

The funding will be allocated as follows:

·       Aroostook County Action Program will receive $36,223.

·       Mid Coast Hospital will receive $70,845.

·       Medical Care Development, Inc. will receive $57,138.

·       Cumberland County will receive $29,115.

·       Sebasticook Valley Hospital will receive $80,845

·       Windham will receive $169,990.

·       Presque Isle will receive $125,000.

·       Brunswick will receive $125,000.

·       Augusta will receive $125,000.

·       University of New England will receive $95,000.

Created by the Drug-Free Communities Act of 1997, DFC spearheads efforts to mobilize communities to prevent youth substance abuse.  The program provides grants to community coalitions to strengthen the infrastructure among local partners to create and sustain a reduction in local youth substance use.

Next Article » « Previous Article