Skip to content

May 07, 2018

King Joins Bipartisan Group of Colleagues to Recognize Public Service Recognition Week

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Today, U.S. Senator Angus King (I-Maine) joined his U.S. Senate colleagues in honoring the critical work of federal, state, county, and local government employees and members of the uniformed services by passing a bipartisan resolution cosponsored by Senator King, which designates May 6-12, 2018 as Public Service Recognition Week.

“Public servants teach our children, protect our communities, and ensure that our citizens have access to vital government programs,” said Senator King. “They make immeasurable contributions to the state of Maine, and deserve our sincere appreciation and gratitude for their commitment. During Public Service Week, I hope that we may all come together to honor their efforts.”

For over 30 years, Public Service Recognition Week has been hosted by the Public Employees Roundtable to help honor federal, state, county and local government employees who are critical to the day to day success of our communities and nation. This year marks the 34th anniversary of Public Service Recognition Week. Click here for more information about events and ways to celebrate Public Service Recognition Week. 

Senator King was joined in cosponsoring the bipartisan Public Service Recognition Week Resolution by a group of 21 cosponsors, including U.S. Senators Heidi Heitkamp (D-N.D.), James Lankford (R-Okla.), Tom Carper (D-Del.), Ron Johnson (R-Wis.), Claire McCaskill (D-Mo.), Jon Tester (D-Mont.), Richard Blumenthal (D-Conn.) Maggie Hassan (D-N.H.), Sherrod Brown (D-Ohio), Dianne Feinstein (D-Calif.), Mark Warner (D-Va.), Jeanne Shaheen (D-N.H.), Tim Kaine (D-Va.), Chris Coons (D-Del.), Gary Peters (D-Mich.), Chris Van Hollen (D-Md.), Ben Cardin (D-Md.), Patty Murray (D-Wash.), Bernie Sanders (I-Vt.), Kamala Harris (D-Calif.), and Patrick Leahy (D-Vt.).

Next Article » « Previous Article