Skip to content

April 27, 2021

Collins, King Join Bipartisan Group in Introducing Resolution to Prevent Any President from Leaving NATO

Washington, D.C. – U.S. Senators Susan Collins (R-ME) and Angus King (I-ME) joined a bipartisan group of colleagues in introducing a resolution that would prohibit any President of the United States from withdrawing from NATO without Senate approval.  The resolution would require the President to seek the advice and consent of the Senate before suspending, terminating, or withdrawing U.S. membership in NATO and would formalize the Senate’s opposition to doing so.

“NATO has proven to be the most successful military alliance over the past seven decades.  It is critical that we reaffirm the United States’ commitment to this vital pillar of our national security,” said Senators Collins and King in a joint statement.  “There is strong support from both sides of the aisle for this important alliance that serves the strategic interests of the United States.”

In addition to Senators Collins and King, the resolution was co-sponsored by Senators Tim Kaine (D-VA), Marco Rubio (R-FL), Richard Blumenthal (D-CT), Chris Coons (D-DE), Lindsey Graham (R-SC), Tammy Duckworth (D-IL), Jerry Moran (R-KS), Dick Durbin (D-IL), Dianne Feinstein (D-CA), Amy Klobuchar (D-MN), Jeff Merkley (D-OR), Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH), and Mark Warner (D-VA).

Click HERE to read the full text of the resolution.

Next Article » « Previous Article