Skip to content

September 28, 2017

Collins, King Congratulate Three Maine Schools Recognized as National Blue Ribbon Schools

WASHINGTON, D.C. – U.S. Senators Susan Collins and Angus King applauded Fourteenth Street School in Bangor, Connors-Emerson School in Bar Harbor, and Falmouth Elementary School for being recognized by the U.S. Department of Education as 2017 National Blue Ribbon Schools. These Maine schools are three of only 342 public and private schools across the nation being recognized for this achievement in 2017. 

“The highly prestigious Blue Ribbon designation achieved by these three schools reflects the tireless efforts of educators who work every day to build a brighter future for Maine’s youth,” said Senators Collins and King in a joint statement. “Each of these schools is the product of community efforts, from the teachers and administrators who build strong school environments, to the families and students who keep the focus on learning even after the last bell rings. We are proud to have these schools representing Maine as 2017 Blue Ribbon schools, and we congratulate them for earning this honor.”

For 35 years, the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program has honored public and private elementary, middle, and high schools. Blue Ribbon schools are recognized for overall academic excellence or for making notable improvements in closing the achievement gap.

Representatives from Fourteenth Street School, Connors-Emerson School, and Falmouth Elementary School are invited to Washington, D.C., for an awards ceremony in November. At the ceremony, each Blue Ribbon school will be presented with an award plaque and a flag.

Next Article » « Previous Article