Skip to content

April 20, 2015

Collins, King Announce $210,000 in Economic Development Grants for Maine

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Today, U.S. Senators Susan Collins and Angus King announced that the U.S. Economic Development Administration (EDA) will award three Economic Development District Planning grants to Maine organizations totaling $210,000. The Androscoggin Valley Council of Governments, Eastern Maine Development Corporation, and Northern Maine Development Corporation each will receive $70,000 to help create an economic development planning framework, process, and strategy to support private capital investment and job creation in their respective regions.

“By supporting the establishment of regional economic development plans, these grants will help communities build roadmaps to attract investment, create jobs, and strengthen our regional economies,” Senators Collins and King said in a joint statement.

These EDA planning investments will support comprehensive economic development strategies (CEDS) for the three regions served by the Maine organizations. Androscoggin Valley Council of Governments serves Androscoggin, Franklin, and Northern Oxford Counties. Eastern Maine Development Corporation serves Hancock, Penobscot, Piscataquis, and eastern Waldo Counties.  Northern Maine Development Corporation serves Aroostook and Washington Counties.


Next Article » « Previous Article