

DENNIS DAUGAARD GOVERNOR OF SOUTH DAKOTA CHAIR DAVID IGE GOVERNOR OF HAWAII VICE CHAIR JAMES D. OGSBURY EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

September 6, 2017

Honorable Lisa Murkowski Chairman Committee on Energy and Natural Resources United States Senate 304 Dirksen Senate Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510

Honorable Cory Gardner Chairman Subcommittee on Energy Committee on Energy and Natural Resources United States Senate 304 Dirksen Senate Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510 Honorable Maria Cantwell Ranking Member Committee on Energy and Natural Resources United States Senate 304 Dirksen Senate Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510

Honorable Joe Manchin III Ranking Member Subcommittee on Energy Committee on Energy and Natural Resources United States Senate 304 Dirksen Senate Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510

Dear Senators Murkowski, Cantwell, Gardner, and Manchin:

The security of the United States electric grid is essential to the provision of reliable energy in the West. The bipartisan Securing Energy Infrastructure Act, <u>S. 79</u>, creates a pilot program and working group to: identify the security vulnerabilities of critical infrastructure; create and implement technology programs and standards to defend that infrastructure; and develop a national cyber-informed strategy to insulate the energy grid from attacks.

This bill advances the Western Governors' goals of putting the United States on a path to energy security and modernizing transmission and pipeline infrastructure, as articulated in Western Governors' Association Policy Resolution <u>2016-09</u>, *Energy and Transmission*, and the Association's <u>10-Year Energy Vision</u>. Western Governors appreciate the bill's requirement that the working group must include a representative from a state or regional energy agency.

Western Governors are committed to helping improve cybersecurity for the energy grid and support the Securing Energy Infrastructure Act's provisions to improve the security of our nation's critical energy infrastructure.

Sincerely,

nn Dennis Daugaard Governor of South Dakota Chair, WGA

David Ige

Governor of Hawai Vice Chair, WGA

CALL (303) 623-9378 VISIT 1600 Broadway Suite 1700 Denver, CO 80202 WESTGOV.ORG